Hoverboard Reviews:

Helping to Find the Perfect Hoverboard For YOU

Hoverboard Reviews: Finding the Best Hoverboard to Buy

Welcome to my hoverboard review page, chances are you're here because you don't know enough about hoverboards. Most people who come here know these three things:

  • Hoverboards explode and are unsafe.
  • Hoverboards are really expensive.
  • I need to find a hoverboard that won't hurt myself or my kids/family.

Sound familiar?

I know what you're probably going through, I had to do the same thing myself about a year ago.

In the last year, I've probably spent on average 8 hours a day researching hoverboards and self-balancing scooters.

That sounds crazy, but it's true. I've even become one a "Most Viewed Writer on Hoverboards" on the website Quora.

In A Hurry?

If you want to skip the quick intro and get straight to the reviews, hit that button.

Besides Hoverboard Reviews, What Else is Covered?

Top 7 Hoverboard Brands Compared

I hope that you find the hoverboard reviews that you are looking for. I'm working as fast as I can to review the best products that I can find. If there's ever a model that you would like me to review and I haven't posted an article on it yet, please let me know in the contact form at the bottom of the page.

A little bit about the self-balancing scooter reviews that I post. I'm working on creating a formalized process that I undertake with each smart board to create a comparison of the different hoverboard brands.

This way you can take the score from one of the hoverboard reviews and compare it directly to a different hoverboard review and know how the two scooters rank against each other. This will work for all the electric scooter reviews.

The Self-Balancing Scooter Specs (Specifications)

The balance scooter specs from the factory are what I base the majority of the ratings off of here at ScooterEra.com. These are the main ones I focus my attention on.

The Hoverboard Max Speed:

This is the max theoretical speed, “On Paper”. Realistically, you’re not going to be able to go as fast as advertised. There are too many factors at work against hitting the hoverboards top speed. Rider size and mass, battery levels, slope of the driving area, etc. all work to limit how fast you can go.

Current generation models usually have a top speed that is from 6 km/h to 20 km/h or about 4 mi/h to 12 mi/h.

The Hoverboard Battery Capacity:

Once you know how fast you can go, the next question is how long can you go that fast. The storage capacity of the battery along with how long it takes to recharge fully are the next criteria I examine. The best self-balancing scooter brands are using lithium batteries from Samsung/LG.

The average battery has a 4.4 A-H (4400 ma-h) capacity. The battery also may be listed as 36V *4.4A-H or 158 Wh.
The formula to convert back from A-H to Wh is:

Q(mAh) = E(Wh) × 1000 / V(V)

The battery capacity usually ranges from 110 Wh to about 160 Wh. Here a higher number is best.

The Hoverboard Battery Charging time:

This is how long it takes for the battery to be fully recharged. One thing to note: a larger capacity battery will take longer to charge but will hold more juice. If you are comparing two models, look at the battery capacity also.
The batteries charging time ranges from a minimum of an hour all the way up to six hours for a full recharge. Obviously, a shorter time is better if all other things are equal.

The Smart Board Range:

AKA How far the unit can go before the battery dies.

This number can vary a lot, like the top speed, it all depends on your riding environment. Top end products have a range of 20-25 miles

A Two-Wheeled Balance Scooter Load Capacity:

This is pretty straight forward of a hoverboard spec. It's how much the rider can weigh. As of December 2015, all of the models available are only for a single passenger. It will be interesting to see when you can carry a passenger with your two-wheeled balance board.
The load capacity seems to be 180 lbs. to almost 300 lbs. The scooters for kids have a lower capacity of about 120 lbs.

The Curb Weight:

How much the electric balance board weighs unloaded out of the box. A heavier curb weight makes it harder to move around when you aren’t riding it. Also, smaller framed people might have issues.
The curb weight varies from 15 lbs. to almost 30 lbs.

Hoverboard Specs That I Look at, But Don't Really Rate

The Wheel size for the Balance Board Scooter:

The first generation 2-wheel balance scooters all had tires that were about 7 in. diameter. Newer generations come in various sizes. Seven in., eight in., and 10 in.

What Type of Tires Does Your Balance Board Have?

Does the scooter come with a solid core or pneumatic tires? The solid tires never go flat. The pneumatic tires have to be air filled and can go flat.

What Size is Your Smart Board

Size: Length x Width x Height. Again the average is about 24 in x 7 in x 7 in.

How Much Clearance Does Your Smart Board Have?

How much space is between the bottom of the unit and the ground. The average is about 1.2 in or so.

A bottom clearance of only 1.2 in means that your scooter will be very close to the ground. Be careful driving over rough terrain. If you end up scraping against an obstacle, you'll probably lose your balance. Most people tend to lose their balance and fall when that occurs.

hoverboard safety tests required to gain UL-2272 certification
Hoverboard Safety Testing and Certification is Required

Best Hoverboard Features to Look For

Hoverboard features to look for
Can I Use A Hoverboard on Water? Someday Hopefully

What Features Were Built into The Electric Scooter?

LED headlights: Headlights are becoming pretty standard, though not all models have them. You’d want the headlights for driver visibility. 1. So that they can see, and 2. So that other people can see them.
Bluetooth Speakers: The most recent generation has these, though because of the included speakers, the tire size goes up to 10” on these models.
Remote Control: The smart boards are keyless. The remote control controls:

  1. Start / Stop.
  2. Lights
  3. Sound.

Learning Throttle: This nifty feature is to help people learn how to ride their board. It sets the top speed of to 50% of the max top speed.
Then once you’ve gotten comfortable, you can remove the limiter and you’ll go full speed. This might be a good feature to look for if you’re buying one for an older person who might not need to zip around.

Regenerative Braking: This is like the brakes in a Prius. As you slow down, a small charge is fed back into the battery.

Bumper Guards: Small bumpers or guards along the edges of the chassis. They will help protect the chassis from bumps and scrapes.

Colors: The number of colors that the board is available in.

Decals: Some vendors sell aftermarket decals you can get and place on your hoverboard.

When I am writing scooter reviews, I will use these specs to arrive at a numerical score for the product being reviewed. The features will vary from scooter to scooter, so that will just be a general thumb up or thumbs down.

Does it have features that would interest the person that knows nothing about electric scooters? Or does it promise that it slices, and dices, yet can't seem to do anything?

My Recommendation for Best All-Purpose Hoverboard

The Swagtron T1 is my usual recommendation for people when that ask what hoverboard they should get.

  • It's extremely safe with several features designed to prevent accidents.
  • Multi-mode operation makes it great for riders of any skill level.
  • Priced under $400

Bottom Line: The Swagtron is a great hoverboard that's great for everyone, whether this is your first hoverboard, or your tenth.

Hoverboard Video Reviews

Powerboard by Hoverboard Video Review, or you can read the Powerboard review here.

Read the complete Swagtron T1 review.

My Self Balancing Scooter and Hoverboard Reviews:

You've made it, in the posts below are all my current smart balancing scooter reviews. I've tried to address everything as impartially as I can and to let you make the decision.  If I am able to find product offers in multiple places that are worthwhile, I'll link to them.

Visit this link if you want to find the best hoverboard deals that I can find currently.

Swagway X1 Hands-Free Smart Hoverboard Review

September 28, 2016
A review of the Swagway X1 Hands Free Smart Board
The Swagway X1 is currently on clearance for $299.  Use the Swagway coupon code:  swag-78A540XUCH to save even more money.
The Swagway-X1 hands-free smart hoverboard- blue, garnet red, green, eight colors in all- is the fastest and most customizable self-balancing electric scooter available. Own one of these and you’ll move in a way you never dreamed possible. The Swagway X1 Hands-free Smart Board was the most popular hoverboard for Christmas 2015. For the month of November, the company was inundated with 250,000 minutes of support and customer service calls. In December, Amazon pulled them from their store amid concerns with how safe they were. The company was quick to supply Amazon the documentation showing that they were UL-certified for the charger and the battery inside the units. You’ll see for yourself in this scooter review. After the recent safety recall of hoverboards, Swagway has introduced several different technologies to the X1 to provide for user safety. All Swagway X1’s now include the SentryShield battery casing.  I cover the SentryShield in my Swagtron T1 review, but it is designed to make the battery fire-proof. 

For a limited time only, the Swagway X1 is on sale for $299.99! Plus if you use my coupon code, you can get extra savings off the price. That code is swag-78A540XUCH. Be sure to add the extended warranty for an additional year of warranty protection.

swagway x1 reviews rate this highly

The Swagway X1: Rated 4.1 out of 5 stars with 361 reviews when it was still on Amazon

A Quick Summary

Who’s it for? Anyone wanting to buy the coolest new gadget.

PROs

  • Ten mph top speed
  • Medium curb weight of 26 lbs.
  • Samsung battery is safer than other no-name brands
  • Typically recharges in under 2 hours.
  • Includes the new SentryShield tech to make the battery safer.

CONs

  • The plastic of the chassis shows the lightest scrapes.
  • The poor adhesive used to glue bumpers onto frame. If you lose your bumpers, replacements are available.
Read the Complete Review

How Safe Is the Powerboard by Hoverboard? A Review

September 27, 2016
Reviewing the New Powerboard by Hoverboard

The Powerboard by Hoverboard: A Complete Review of the Best-selling Hoverboard

Right now the Powerboard by Hoverboard is the lowest priced hoverboard available on Amazon. Click here to see the prices for yourself.
If you’ve been to any major mall in the US in 2016 you’ve probably seen a kiosk selling hoverboards. The Powerboard by Hoverboard is one of the most common brands sold. In this review, I’ll cover the following topics, to help you decide if the Powerboard is the right hoverboard for you.

  • Confused by the many different brands of hoverboard that you can buy? Find out what some of the things that you should look for if you are buying a hoverboard.
  • Why should you buy a Powerboard? You’ll learn what makes this one of the best-selling hoverboards that you can buy.
  • Watch out for hoverboard prices that are too high, or too low. See how the Powerboard compares to other self-balancing scooter brands.
  • See the best hoverboard comparisons or the main hoverboard page.

I cover all these points and more inside this review of the Power board by Hoverboard.

BOTTOM LINE

The Powerboard by Hoverboard is an average performing self-balancing scooter that does little to differentiate itself from the competition. Yet, this hoverboard is sold at a great price and the company behind it has been quick to address any issues that have arisen. There may be a few hoverboards that are better than this performance wise, they can’t beat the price. You may also like the Swagtron T1 Smart Balance Hoverboard

My Rating:  88.3 / 100         ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Read the Complete Review

Phunkeeduck Personal Transporter

September 24, 2016
The hoverboard jamie foxx rode

THE PHUNKEEDUCK PERSONAL TRANSPORTATION DEVICE

The hoverboard of the stars, the Phunkee Duck

The PhunkeeDuck personal transportation device is the next era of transportation. Riding one of these will change your world. You’ve seen some of your favorite celebrities riding one. Now you can see some of the other hoverboards for sale: self-balancing scooter comparison, Razor Hovertrax Self Balancing Scooter, A Pink Hoverboard by Powerboard.

I recommend the Swagtron T1 hoverboard, see why I think it’s a top hoverboard to buy.

YOU’VE SEEN THE PHUNKEEDUCK ON TV WITH YOUR FAVORITE CELEBRITIES

It’s the original personal transportation device that all the hottest names on Instagram and YouTube were seen riding this past summer.

WHAT IS A PHUNKEEDUCK PERSONAL TRANSPORTER?”

Personal transportation device shall be deemed to include motorized foot scooters, motorized skateboards, pocket motorcycles and all other similar devices, but shall exclude motorized wheelchairs, motor driven cycles, mopeds, electric-assisted bicycles, motorcycles, and electronic personal assistive mobility devices. Source

What does all that mean?

Read the Complete Review

Jetson V6 Hoverboard w/ Bluetooth From Target.com

September 24, 2016
Review: Jetson V6 8" Hoverboard with Bluetooth Speakers

Jetson Electric Hoverboard aka Glyro Hoverboards

It appears that Jetson Electric, which is the name of the company selling the Glyro Turbo hoverboards, is no longer selling hoverboards.  If you visit their site at JetsonElectric dot com, you’ll see a site that hasn’t been updated since 2014. They are now the exclusive brand of hoverboards that Target will be stocking. I’ll update this page as I learn more.

If you’re researching hoverboard brands, you should see my hoverboard comparison review, or for the #1 rated hoverboard, the SwagTron T1 review.

Your Search for a Self-Balancing Scooter With Bluetooth Speakers is Over.

The Features of the Glyro Self Balancing Scooter with Bluetooth Speakers.

  • The Glyro scooter uses two sensors, along with the wheels to automatically balance itself and the user.
  • It’s water resistant (not WATER-PROOF) so you can use it in wet conditions. This doesn’t mean that you can take it for a spin in during the next
    hurricane. This is not an off-road scooter, so don’t play with it in mud or water.
  • Recommended for ages 13 and up
  • There’s a Samsung lithium-ion battery.
  • Includes Bluetooth speakers that will sync with your phone so you can play your favorite music while riding the Glyro Turbo.

Like the other scooters and hoverboards that are currently available, the Glyro Turbo Scooter is fast and can move in any direction just by changing your balance while riding. It uses an innovative balance system to help minimise the chances of you falling while riding the Glyro.

Read the Complete Review

Razor Hovertrax 2.0 Review: A Look At the New Hoverboard

September 21, 2016
Razor Hovertrax 2.0 review

Razor Hovertrax 2.0 Review: A Look At the New Hoverboard

A CLOSER LOOK AT THE NEW AND IMPROVED HOVERBOARD

Razor USA recently released the Hovertrax 2.0 hoverboard. They have added several new features to this self-balancing scooter, all designed to make it a safer and better quality product. See what these new features are and how the Hovertrax 2.0 compares to other hoverboard brands.

BOTTOM LINE
It might not be the fastest hoverboard, but it is probably one of the best hoverboards to get for kids. It will let them do anything they would want to with a hoverboard, but the slower speed may keep them out of accidents.

Shop at Amazon
Hovertrax 2.0 Features Two New Control Modes

The specs for the Hovertrax 2.0

Several color choices are available for the Hovertrax 2.0: green, blue, red, black, and white.
The Hovertrax hoverboard comes in 5 different colors: green, red, blue, black, and white.

HOVERTRAX 2.0 SPECS

Top Speed 6 mi/h (9.5 km/h)
Speed is one of the most important stats of any hoverboard. The Hovertrax 2.0’s top speed is 6 miles per hour. This is surprisingly slow, especially when it’s compared to other brands which average around 8 mi/h. That’s 25% faster.


Battery Life 60 minutes
After speed, the next important stat for any smart balance board has to be the battery life. How long the battery lasts, depends upon several factors: rider weight, temperature, active usage. The battery capacity for the Hovertrax is estimated to be 60 minutes.


Weight Limit 220 lbs. (100 kg.)
The Hovertrax 2.0 weight limit is 220 lbs. This is the standard maximum rider weight for self-balancing scooters.


Product Dimensions 24.5 in. L x 9 in. W x 8.75 in.
The Hovertrax is the standard size for a hoverboard with 6.5″ wheels. It measures: 24.5” L x 9” W x 8.75” H


Weight 27 lbs. (12.2 kg.)
Unloaded the Hovertrax weighs in at 27 lbs.


Available Colors 5 different colors
The Hovertrax is available in 5 different colors: White, Black , Blue, Green, and Red.

Read the Complete Review

Leray Self Balancing Scooter: The Dreamwalker

September 10, 2016
The Leray Hoverboard has returned to Amazon.com

The Leray Self Balancing Scooter: Dreamwalker

The Dreamwalker Self Balancing Hoverboard

Amazon Recently Removed All Hoverboards

The Leray Dreamwalker has been hit especially hard with the recent removal of all hoverboards from Amazon. I haven’t been able to locate somewhere else that they are sold online. Once I do, I will update this page accordingly. In the meantime, look at my hoverboard deals page to see the most recent discount hoverboards .

The Leray Self Balancing Scooter is back on Amazon. You might have heard that Amazon had recently pulled all the hoverboards off the market. The X1 from Swagway, the Razor Hovertrax, the hoverboard from Powerboard, and most other brands were removed temporarily.

Yet, all that drama has passed, and they are once more available to buy.

The Dreamwalker: A Leray Scooter

Stylish : You’ll be amazed at what you can do while riding the Leray 2 Wheel Electric Self Balancing Scooter. With the ability to do a full spin in one spot you can take this anywhere the ground is smooth, and even some spots where the ground isn’t.

FUN: There’s nothing that’s quite like riding a hoverboard. Be the envy of your neighborhood once they see you on the Leray.

POPULAR : Everywhere you look there’s a new celebrity found riding on a Leray self balancing scooter. Now you can too.

Quality: This a well-built project, and that we back with our guarantee. This is the only self balancing scooter sold with CERTIFIED LG 18650 battery packs.

You will never hear about one of our hoverboards exploding. Or that a Leray hoverboard caught on fire.

The Dreamwalker Hoverboard Motor

Inside each of the two-wheel electric scooters that we build is an extremely powerful motor. Rated at 500 W, it’s was designed for the toughest conditions. It has the most environmentally friendly motor. It’s so advanced that we call it the Dreamwalker motor.

Read the Complete Review

Swagtron T1 Hoverboard Review: Is It a Safe Hoverboard

August 26, 2016
Swagtron T1 Hoverboard: A Safe Hoverboard Reviewed

THE SWAGTRON T1 REVIEWED: CAN HOVERBOARDS BE SAFE TO OWN?

An in-depth review of the Swagtron t1 self-balancing scooter with particular attention given to the new safety features that promise a safer product for everyone.

Until recently it looked like hoverboards were a fad that had disappeared just as quickly as they had appeared.

Everywhere you looked was a news article about how a hoverboard caused this fire or a viral video of someone trying to ride a hoverboard and failing.

Even the CPSC became involved and declared that “all hoverboards were unsafe.”

That declaration seemed to be the last straw for many hoverboard retailers, as they soon removed them from their shelves.

What many people did not know is that at the same time that the CPSC was declaring hoverboards unsafe, they released a set of hoverboard safety standards, covering more than 40 different tests.

Now, just a few months later, hoverboards are beginning to make their return to stores. Currently, only a few brands have been able to meet the UL-2272 hoverboard safety standards.

This review will cover the SwagTron T1 hoverboard. In it, I will show you what makes this one of the safest and best hoverboards that you can buy.
The Swagtron T1 smart balance board has new wheel rims and smaller fenders The Swagtron T1 Smart Hands-free Self-balancing Scooter is a great all-purpose hoverboard.

WHO SHOULD BUY A SWAGTRON T1?

The Swagtron T1 is a great hoverboard for most people. In fact, this is what I recommend when people ask me which hoverboard they should buy.

Here’s why:

  • The Swagtron T1 is a safer hoverboard. Not only that, but you can see what has been done to make it a safer hoverboard. Other brands might say that they are safer, but what improvements were made? Most don’t have an answer for that.
  • The T1 is a decent trade-off between performance, price, and safety. I might wish that it could go faster, but that’s minor.
  • Swagway and Swagtron are the best-selling hoverboards. This means the company is much less likely to suddenly go out of business like many other companies that sell hoverboards.

Bottom Line:

The Swagtron T1 is a great blend of safety, performance, and price.

 

My Rating:  88/100

★★★★½

Get Your Swagtron From Amazon

Read the Complete Review

Top 7 Hoverboards Compared: See Which is the Best for You

August 22, 2016
Top 7 Hoverboards Compared: Which is the best self-balancing scooter for you?

A COMPARISON OF 7 DIFFERENT HOVERBOARDS TO FIND OUT WHICH IS THE BEST ONE TO BUY.

Here it is, the ultimate hoverboard comparison review. Many brands of hoverboard look exactly alike. Without carefully examining them how do you know which hoverboard is the best? Which hoverboard is the worst? Is there really any difference between the hoverboard brands?

WHAT’S THE BEST HOVERBOARD TO BUY?

How do you know which hoverboard you should buy?
Which is the safest hoverboard available?
Will the Swagway explode?
What about a Powerboard?
What the heck is the difference between a Swagtron and a Powerboard anyway?
I’m sure these questions are bouncing around inside your head as you read this. It’s okay, my goal here is to answer those questions for you. I used to be in the same position. I knew what I wanted, I knew how I wanted it, I knew where I wanted it from. I just didn’t know WHICH I wanted.

I’m guessing that you are in the same boat I was when I first started comparing hoverboards trying to learn which was the best one to buy. If you think this whole ordeal is extremely confusing, you’re not alone.

Be the end of this article I’ll show you some of the top hoverboards and show you which ones you should consider buying and why.

THE WORLD OF HOVERBOARDS IS CONFUSING.

On one hand, there are the brands and styles of hoverboards. 6.5″, 8″, and even 10″ wheels. Then there is the features: with Bluetooth, without Bluetooth, remote/no remote.

It’s hard to make sense of.

I won’t even mention mini-Segway vs hoverboard vs smart balance wheel (HINT: they’re the same thing, just different names)

WHICH HOVERBOARD IS THE BEST ONE TO BUY?

Are you in a hurry and just want to jump to the conclusion of this hoverboard comparison?
t’s okay if you don’t want to mess with any of this. Are you looking for the quick and easy answer to Which hoverboard is the best one to buy? Click on this button and you’ll be taken to the hoverboard comparison chart that I have at the end of this post.
Skip to the Hoverboard Comparison Chart

HERE’S THE CRITERIA THAT I USE TO COMPARE HOVERBOARDS

1. THE HOVERBOARD TOP SPEED
How fast does the hoverboard go? What’s it’s top speed? Is there a “learning mode?” What happens when the hoverboard reaches it’s top speed.

2. THE MAXIMUM RANGE OF THE HOVERBOARD
How far does the manufacturer say that you can theoretically go? Is this a reasonable estimate or have they just inflated the number for marketing?

3. THE HOVERBOARD’S BATTERY
We have all become slaves to the all mighty battery. How long of can you use the hoverboard before you need to recharge the battery? Also, how long do you have to wait for the battery to recharge.

4. THE MANUFACTURER’S WARRANTY
How long is the warranty that comes with your hoverboard? What is covered by the warranty? More importantly, what isn’t covered by the warranty?

5. THE PRICE
Probably the most important thing to consider, how much will it cost to buy the hoverboard. Are there multiple places where you can buy it? Are there deals or other discounts available.

Read the Complete Review

How to Find The Cheapest Hoverboard for 2016

June 9, 2016
What's The Cheapest Hoverboard In 2016

I’m Looking For A Cheap Hoverboard, Can You Help?

If you want to get a cheap hoverboard, check out my review of the Swagtron T1. Not only is it relatively inexpensive, but it’s also a safe and well-built hoverboard, too. Check out this review where I show you why it is a dependable hoverboard.

Do you need the cheapest hoverboard? No problem, here’s a bunch of links to some of the most affordable hoverboards that I could find. If you’re reading this article, you might see that there are several Christmas references. This article has been updated since Christmas, and I’m working on taking all of them out.

Now is a great time to buy if you are looking for a cheap hoverboard. Several vendors are lowering prices on Amazon. While the average price hasn’t dropped to the levels of buying direct from China, these are the lowest hoverboard prices I’ve seen yet. All of the links below are fresh and the prices current as of today. UPDATED 2-08-2016

The most popular question that I have heard from other readers is parents asking for what’s the cheapest self-balancing scooter for Christmas 2015.

So I took some time to do a little roundup of what I found to be the most economical self-balancing scooters for this Christmas.

First, some rules about what will make up the cheapest hoverboard.

  1. No pieces of junk that will just waste your money. Yes, you can buy this model or that one for only $180. But it doesn’t have a warranty, or it’s seriously underpowered.
  2. I’m aiming for self-balancing scooters under $400.
  3. The hoverboards I list should have a one-year warranty. If a kid is going to be using it, you’re going to want the warranty.
  4. The best smart boards that I found are all designed for adults. I’ll list a couple of kids balance scooters at the very end of the article. I tried, but I couldn’t find any kid-specific models that were still in stock, or that could arrive before Christmas.
  5. There’re only a few days left to get a hoverboard by Christmas Eve 2016. Therefore, all these will have quick shipping.

For some fantastic hoverboard deals, click on the button below to see a list of current hoverboard deals, coupons, and discounts.

Read the Complete Review

IO Hawk Self Balancing Scooters

September 10, 2015
IO Hawk A Major Importer of Self Balancing Electric Scooters Suffered a Huge Setback

I O Hawk Review: Why It’s Illegal to Sell the IO Hawk Board in the US.

IO Hawk Board Can No Longer Be Sold in the US. Find Out Why in this Article.

THIS WAS GOING TO BE AN AWESOME ARTICLE ABOUT THE IO HAWK…

Until This Even Happened

An IO Hawk Hoverboard found via our Hoverboard Reviews page

This was going to be an awesome headline about how an IO Hawk Board would bring world peace.

Scroll Down to Find Out What Happened

IO HAWK HAD A VERY IMPORTANT COURT CASE, THAT THEY LOST

One of the first companies to gain a name for their “Personalized Motor Transporters”, was IO Hawk. The company unveiled what many called a mini Segway, or a self balancing skateboard/board to the delight of the technology loving crowds at the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas Jan 6 – 9, 2015.

The company acted quickly after the show and began selling their self balancing scooter in February of 2015. Unbeknownst to the people who were rushing to buy the $1800 personal transporter was that at the same time a man was rushing to halt the sale of the IO Hawk board

That man, Shane Chen, was the inventor and patent holder of the Hovertrax. But what is the Hovertrax? It’s the two wheeled evolution of the Solotrax, Chen’s electric unicycle. At CES 2015 Chen saw the I O Hawk hoverboard and told them that they were infringing upon his patent. Shortly after that, Chen was suing the parent company of IO Hawk.

“There were a few [knockoffs] in the beginning. Then last year, all of a sudden there were over a hundred,” he said. “Then there were 150 of them. Now they’re not even copying us — they’re copying the copies. And they’re selling them worldwide. – Shane Chen

Fast forward to Nov 20, 2015, and Shane Chen is a much happier man. He had just won the first of many lawsuits that he has against patent-infringing companies who had little regard for his creation. The company that lost? IO Hawk. Now, anyone who willingly and knowingly sells their devices will be subject to potential liabilities.

Read the Complete Review